## GEORGIA CATTLEMEN'S ASSOCIATION

## **AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING**

## **OCTOBER 20, 2020**

## **MINUTES**

The Georgia Cattlemen's Association Awards Committee met on Tuesday, October 20, 2020 at 9 a.m. by Zoom. Committee members present were: Chairman Lee Brown, Ernie Ford, Melvin Porter, Justin Gilliard, Joe Garner, Paula Myers and Steve Blackburn. Committee members Justin Hand and Bobby Brantley were not available to attend the meeting, but they did send their scores in and were included in the tallies. Staff members present were: Charlsy Godowns and Michele Creamer. Porter opened the meeting with prayer.

The purpose of the meeting was to decide the award and scholarship winners for the 2020 year to be awarded at the 2021 Convention. The committee received the packages by email prior to the meeting.

The Harvey Lemmon Memorial Scholarship will be an annual scholarship with preference given to a Vet Student. It was decided to contact Marti Brick with the UGA Vet School and ask her to give the application to the vet students in the program and then present those applications back to the committee. This is a \$500 Scholarship.

It was suggested to send the Vet of the Year winner picture and write up to the Vet School to be on display. Also, let the Allied Industry Group know that they sponsor the Vet of the Year winner.

There were 7 Scholarship Applications. The committee members had ranked all the scholarships from 1 to 5 with 5 being the highest. After the scores were entered into a spreadsheet the following \$1,000 scholarships will be awarded:

Ellie Madeline Clark

Payton Karrington Jackson

Chelsea Elizabeth Langley

Teresa Eleanora Lindstrom

Morgan Danielle Rowan

Austin Wiggins

Foundation

Gail Hilley

William Dalton Woodard

Foundation

The following awards will be awarded: Junior of the Year – Nancy Murray Cattle Producer of the Year – Terry Chandler Vet of The Year – Dr. Stephen Everett

Godowns presented the HAY program applications. There were videos to go with each application. After watching the videos and reviewing the applications the following will be awarded \$2,000 each for the purchase of a heifer.

Age Category 9-13 – Madison McDonald Age Category 14-17 – Raegan Gilbert Age Category 18-21 – Ellie Clark

There being no further business to discuss the meeting was adjourned.